Love That is True And Real: A Postcard From Midnight In Paris

RMOMMidnight

“I believe that love that is true and real, creates a respite from death. All cowardice comes from not loving or not loving well, which is the same thing. And then the man who is brave and true looks death squarely in the face, like some rhino-hunters I know or Belmonte, who is truly brave… It is because they make love with sufficient passion, to push death out of their minds… until it returns, as it does, to all men… and then you must make really good love again.”                              

~ Ernest Hemingway to Gil Pender [written by Woody Allen]

Dear Adriana-

I apologize for these cheap postcards.  Spent my last remaining francs that was burning a hole in my pocket.  I purchased the Cole Porter record.  You know, the one I saw on that street?  You know me, always looking back.

How are you?  It has been a while since we last talked.  I do still miss you.  I miss your eyes.  Your voice.  Your laugh.  Well, just everything.  I guess things worked out anyway?  Just not the way I thought it would.  Go easy on the absinthe with that scoundrel Lautrec.  I know you told me that was the Golden Age of Paris, but I discovered something, well…profound since I left you that night.  More on that later.

Sitting here at my favorite sidewalk cafe, I got to thinking about my friends again.  I wonder how they are all doing.  What are they talking about?  What has them on fire about tonight?  Ernie would probably want to fight me again.  All them are like family to me, Adriana.  You know what I mean?  Crazy as it sounds.  Maybe I am crazy.  I know I am happy for some reason now.

hemmip-cl2-shrt3

It’s starting to rain outside now.  I sit inside these days.  Away from tourists out there and with only my comrades in the city inside here…ha!   I may have to take a walk because of this weather.  Nothing more beautiful than Paris in the rain, right?  Now I am rambling again.  What did you tell me once?  I am always so full of words.  Yes, I believe that was what you said.  I could be the complete hack writer and trace back the areas we walked on those lovely nights in the rain.  Yes, I remember every street corner, every crack on every step.  It may be the past I am talking about, but my present still has you all around me.

The rain outside here washes away anyone’s pain or loneliness, if they let it.  Don’t get me wrong, Adriana, I am not feeling either of those things.  I am feeling pretty good.  I made the right decision for sure.  This is where I belong.  That was what I was trying to say earlier, well, badly perhaps.  I’m a writer for chrissakes and I fumble.  Let’s see, I decided to make the Golden Age of Paris right here, right now?  That is about it.  It’s getting dark and lights are coming up.   You know me, Adriana, this is my favorite time.  I need to start my nightly walk.  I will think of you always.  You shook my world there for a bit and well, I thank my lucky stars.

Yours,

Gil

Midnight-in-paris-e1405454921704

(all images from Midnight In Paris, 2011)

“Midnight In Paris” 2011 [written and directed by Woody Allen, director of photography Darius Khondji]

One thought on “Love That is True And Real: A Postcard From Midnight In Paris

Leave a Reply

